Volume 14A, Page 66, 67

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: July 27, 1982

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 27th day of July, 1982, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in CALLED SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

BILLY JORDAN	PRESIDENT
LANDON RAMSAY	VICE PRESIDENT
JEARL COOPER	SECRETARY
A. J. LAWS	DIRECTOR
T. A. GREEN	DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were Bob Wright; Cass Taliaferro; O. C. Rupe; E. C. Withers; and Shirley Maples.

The President of the Board called the Meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this Meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Ann. Civ. Statutes, Article 6252-17.

Attorney Cass Taliaferro informed the Board of a telephone conversation with the Attorney General in regard to the District's present agreement with the Sheriff's Department for enforcement of District regulations. He was advised by the Attorney General that, in his opinion without further research, the District should have a written agreement with the Sheriff's office and the salaries paid should be paid by the County.

MOTION was made by A. J. Laws, and SECONDED by T. A. Green, to enter into the Inter-Governmental Agreement proposed by Water District Manager E. C. Withers. After a very lengthy discussion and deliberation thereon, the vote being called for, the vote was as follows: AYES: A. J. Laws, T. A. Green, and Billy Jordan. NOES: Jearl Cooper and Landon Ramsay. A copy of the agreement will be attached hereto and made a part hereof.

The Attorney was advised to pursue an Attorney General's opinion as quickly as possible.

There being no further business, the Meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 2nd day of August, 1982.

Billy Jordan, President Landon Ramsay, Vice President Jearl Cooper, Secretary A.J. Laws, Director T. A. Green, Director